Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

The ACT was established in 1913 as the official territory for the capital city of Canberra. It is purposely located in between Sydney and Melbourne, the two biggest cities in Australia, as both the cities wanted to be the nation’s capital. The ACT has cool, foggy winters and dry, hot summers.
As the capital of Australia, Canberra is home to important institutions such as the Australian War Memorial, Parliament House, and the High Court of Australia. The city also has the National Museum of Australia and the National Gallery of Australia.

Australian capital territory was transferred from the control of the South Australian government to the Commonwealth in 1911 and became newly federated nation of Australia and in 1913 was the naming of Canberra as the National Capital. Located between the Goulburn-Cooma railway line in the east, Naas Creek to the South, Cotter River in the west and Molonglo river to the North. It has historic townships, beautiful natural wonders famous Snowy mountains, Namadgi National Park coastlines with beautiful agricultural landscape with dairy cattle, vineyards, sheep with its smallest self-governing internal territory. With Tidbinbilla Nature Reserve and Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex operated by United States NASA.

Australian Capital Territory

The Australian Capital Territory or the ACT is Australia’s smallest self governing state or territory and is also the smallest state or territory in size. The heart of the territory is the capital city Canberra, a modernised city that expands into the surrounds of the region with stunning coastlines and the famous Snowy Mountains.

The territory is completely surrounded by New South Wales and provides the state with internal beauty and charm. Between the two capital cities, Canberra and Sydney each offer a gateway to each other with blending rural charm and urban sophistication. The region offers beautiful nature, stunning and historical towns and amazing local cuisine. The border between NSW and ACT is an explorers dream with mountains, lakes and rivers that look natural and untouched.

The ACT holds the essence of Australian culture showcasing the nation’s most valuable arts and treasures. The Canberra Museum and Gallery offers a diverse range of visual arts and provides the state with a thriving art scene. Canberra is also home to the National Zoo and the National Museum of Australia, great for kids and very family friendly.

The sport scene is vivacious with Canberra holding top contenders in both rugby league and rugby union. The territory is also lucky enough to hold a few Australian Football League games every year even though they contribute no team to the national sport. Canberra is also very well known for its luxurious and modern golf courses with amazing scenery to aid you in the play of the game.

The capital city Canberra also houses the National Science and Technology Centre and the CSIRO discovery centre, both showcases for tremendous achievements in Australian science and technology. This has also influenced the building of the Australian Institute of Sport in the territory assisting Australia with innovative new ways to lead international sporting competitions.

Situated in Campbell, Canberra is the ADFA or Australian Defence Force Academy as well as the Royal Military College of Duntroon. Both provide high quality military training and are counted as campuses of the University of New South Wales.

As the smallest of all 8 states and territories, Australian Capital Territory along with Canberra still has mountains of opportunities offered to the outside traveller and the inside communities despite its size. ACT provides an important framework for the internal workings of the Australian government as well as family friendly attractions and the chance to explore beautiful landscapes and the scenery of real Australia.